Become a Queensland legend and a friend of FOGS today!

Your Free membership includes;
Premium fogs content
Maroons camp insider emails
Friends of FOGS email newsletter


ABOUT US 2016-07-12T15:19:52+00:00

The Former Origin Greats (FOGS) are committed to inspiring and developing the next generation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander leaders and assist in ‘Closing the Gap’ in education and employment between First Nations People and non-Indigenous Australians.

The Former Origin Greats (FOGS) is a non-profit organisation founded by the late Richard ‘Tosser’ Turner in 1997.

The FOGS members are the elite group of players who have represented Queensland at State of Origin level since its inception in 1980. Many of Australia’s highest profile sportsmen are FOGS, including Mal Meninga, Shane Webcke, Wally Lewis, Arthur Beetson, Kevin Walters, Allan Langer, Gene Miles, Johnathan Thurston, Darren Lockyer, Scott Prince and Gorden Tallis.

Overseeing the FOGS operations is the Executive Chairman, Gene Miles with a Board of Directors that includes:

  • Mal Meninga
  • Wally Lewis
  • Chris Close
  • Greg Oliphant
  • Trevor Gillmeister
  • Gavin Allen
  • Don Jackson
  • Shane Webcke
  • Rod Morris
  • John Ribot-de-Bresac
  • Andrew Gee
  • Mike Mclean

FOGS Objectives

  • The commitment to raising funds for designated charities
  • To support the State of Origin series and origin staff and players
  • Aiding in the development of Rugby League within Queensland
  • Actively mentoring Indigenous people and communities throughout Queensland